Ecological sustainability

How can cultural production be shaped amidst the global ecological crisis? What opportunities do cultural institutions offer to devise and test forward-looking ideas? Together with staff, KBB is addressing these questions and systematically working on improving its own environmental impact.

Prompted by an initiative for sustainability and culture: Between 2010 and 2012, the Federal Cultural Foundation (Kulturstiftung des Bundes) carried out the project Über Lebenskunst in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt. As part of the eponymous festival, in 2011 artists, scholars and activists presented reflections on the topic of climate change and invited people to try out sustainable models of an “art of living” for the 21st century. What can “the good life” mean in the face of the global ecological crisis? The initiative project, which sought to anchor long-standing sustainability debates more firmly in culture, became the starting point for KBB’s engagement with ecological sustainability.

Together with staff, KBB has since been exploring the possibilities that a cultural institution offers as a place for forward-looking ideas in environmental protection. This is not only about making sustainability discourses communicable in our programmatic mission, but also about the potential of culture to drive overarching change in society.

As a basis for this process, KBB has been using the international Eco-Management and Audit Scheme (EMAS) since 2013 to assess its own environmental impact and ascertain tangible figures – whether gauging water consumption in the individual buildings, conducting material flow analyses or measuring the kilowatt hours consumed for heating and spotlights.

A sampling of our steps towards more sustainability

  • Rail instead of air travel for business trips within Germany and to major cities in neighbouring countries
  • Systematic involvement of employees
  • Energy-efficient refurbishment of our properties and continuous energy optimisation of the same
  • Guidelines for the sustainable organisation of events
  • Step-by-step conversion of KBB’s vehicle fleet to electromobility
  • Inter-house materials market and Berlin-wide recycling management projects

Our environmental guidelines

How does EMAS work?

Developed by the European Union, the international Eco-Management with Audit Scheme (EMAS) supports businesses in making an effective contribution to environmental protection. KBB has been aligning its environmental management with EMAS since 2013 and is continuously working on improving its own environmental impact.

EMAS works from the inside out by being woven into the DNA of the company: The basis of the system is the commitment and involvement of KBB employees. As an environmental team, they discuss data collected and, based on this, formulate annual measures for climate protection and resource conservation. EMAS supports and coordinates the efforts by regularly advancing the set goals through internal and external audits. In this way, the implementation of the self-selected measures is ensured and communicated internally and externally. The EMAS validation creates the necessary framework conditions to anchor environmental education in the institution and to sustainably change structures and processes.

On 24 November 2021, KBB received confirmation from the Chamber of Industry and Commerce that it can continue to hold the EMAS certificate for ecological management with registration number DE-107-00140 until at least 1 October 2024.

Commitment of Colleagues

“I like being part of the environmental team because I firmly believe that some things need to change in the festival sector. These changes don’t automatically mean making sacrifices; they can be fun and that’s what I’m up for!”

Katharina Fritzsche, Head of Project Coordination, Berliner Festspiele

A construction made of wood is built on a wagon.
Car park garden at the Gropius Bau with wooden benches, lounging and seating areas, and plant beds.

Environmental management priorities at KBB

Ecological Sustainability in Cultural Production

How can we as cultural organisers act more sustainably and contribute to a fundamental rethinking of the cultural sector? Instead of forgoing the arts, we rely on technical knowledge, creativity and innovation. As far as artistic processes allow, ecological aspects are taken into account in the planning, realisation and follow-up of our events, especially in the areas of resource use, procurement, business travel, transport and waste disposal. For example, stage exhibits are re-used by means of a cross-house materials market, edition sizes are reduced and guidelines for environmentally friendly event organisation are developed. Our goal is to create an all-encompassing awareness for environmentally friendly action and our own responsibility by pointing out alternatives.

Example measures:

  • Guidelines for ecologically sustainable catering for artists and guests, for the sustainable organisation of events and for environmentally friendly procurement.
  • Inter-venue materials market for the re-use of materials from event construction
  • Electric vehicles in the event fleet of the Berlinale and KBB
  • Use of environmentally friendly materials in the production of print publications as well as reduction of the run of print products
  • Avoidance of disposable materials in the catering sector

Sustainable and Efficient Building Management

How can exhibition spaces and stage venues reduce their CO2 emissions in the long term? Since the introduction of environmental management, KBB has continuously recorded the consumption data for heat, electricity, water, waste and certain consumer products as well as the resulting CO2 emissions for each location of its institutions. Their evaluation forms the basis for setting up optimising measures. The technical and energy refurbishment of KBB’s venues and the switch to green electricity, which was completed in 2013, mark important milestones in the environmentally conscious administration and use of the buildings. In close exchange with allies, social responsibility also plays a major role when energy consumption has to be reduced due to rising costs and possible bottlenecks.

Example measures:

  • Since 2013, exclusive use of green electricity and successive reduction of electricity consumption
  • Photovoltaic system on the roof of the Gropius Bau since 2010
  • Modernisation of the air conditioning and heating system of the Berliner Festspiele and installation of a heat recovery system
  • Renewal of the steel and glass façade of Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW)
  • Complete energy refurbishment of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele
  • Gradual KBB-wide conversion to low-consumption LED lights in building management and in event operations
  • Reducing the load on the servers: Reduction of self-operated servers from 18 to six servers and from three to two server rooms plus additional restriction of air-conditioning in the server rooms.
  • Reduction of the room temperature to 19 °C in the offices during the heating period

Promoting the Switch to Environmentally Friendly Mobility

KBB has agreed with its employees to make business trips as climate-neutral as possible. For this reason, KBB only reimburses travel by public transport within Berlin. Rail is also the preferred mode of travel within Germany and to major European cities in neighbouring countries. Long-term employees have the option of purchasing the BVG (Berlin public transport) company ticket. In addition, KBB is gradually converting its vehicle fleet, necessary for its operations, to electric vehicles.

Example measures:

  • Acquisition of electric cargo bikes and electric vans as a starting point for the conversion of the logistics vehicle fleet to environmentally friendly solutions
  • Bicycle stations for rental bikes at our venues
  • Promotion of bicycle use by employees – offer of a free bicycle check in cooperation with the ADFC as well as offer of company bicycle leasing
  • Web conferences and online meetings are preferred

Promoting Environmental Awareness among all Employees

All those who produce, create and consume have to make decisions on sustainability. Therefore, it is of particular concern to KBB to involve the employees of all venues in the ecological orientation in order to accompany KBB as a company on its way to an ecological future. The employees of KBB are therefore invited to regular environmental team meetings in order to actively participate in the transformation process and to contribute their own ideas. Training and information on environmentally conscious behaviour at the workplace as well as joint excursions additionally strengthen awareness of ecological sustainability, while the members of the environmental team are always available as contact persons.

Example measures:

  • Public environmental team meetings since 2016
  • Training courses on environmentally friendly and healthy heating and ventilation
  • Annual KBB Environment Day (e.g., participation in World Cleanup Day, visit to EMAS-certified bakery Märkisches Landbrot)
  • Regular advice on environmentally conscious behaviour in the workplace
  • Training on environmentally friendly procurement and sustainable event organisation

Compensatory Measures

KBB supports the rewetting of moors in northern Germany by purchasing MoorFutures to cover unavoidable air travel by employees. MoorFutures is dedicated to the renaturation of peatlands in Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania and Schleswig-Holstein. Powerful carbon reservoirs, peatlands bind about one third of the carbon existing in the earth’s soil and biomass while covering only three percent of our planet. By purchasing voluntary climate protection certificates, KBB supports MoorFutures in its work to re-wet drained peatlands and thus permanently bind CO2 in the soil. The KBB funds are used for the rewetting of former moors. You can find out more at www.moorfutures-sh.de or here.

Contact

What else is KBB doing for sustainability?

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit

Wie kann Kulturproduktion unter den Bedingungen der globalen ökologischen Krise gestaltet werden? Welche Möglichkeiten bieten Kultureinrichtungen, um zukunftsweisende Ideen zu entwerfen und zu erproben? Die KBB beschäftigt sich mit diesen Fragen und arbeitet systematisch an der Verbesserung der eigenen Umweltbilanz.

Eine Initiative für Nachhaltigkeit und Kultur als Anstoß: Zwischen 2010 und 2012 realisierte die Kulturstiftung des Bundes das Projekt „Über Lebenskunst“ in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Im Rahmen des gleichnamigen Festivals präsentierten 2011 Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Aktivist*innen Reflexionen zum Thema Klimawandel und luden ein, zukunftsfähige Modelle einer Lebenskunst für das 21. Jahrhundert zu erproben: Was kann „gutes Leben“ unter den Bedingungen der globalen ökologischen Krise bedeuten? Das Initiativprojekt, das längst geführte Nachhaltigkeitsdebatten stärker in der Kultur zu verankern suchte, wurde zum Ausgangspunkt der Auseinandersetzung der KBB mit ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit.

Gemeinsam mit ihren Mitarbeitenden beschäftigt sich die KBB seither mit den Möglichkeiten, die eine Kultureinrichtung als Ort für zukunftsweisende Ideen im Umweltschutz bereithält. Dabei geht es nicht nur darum, Nachhaltigkeits-Diskurse im programmatischen Auftrag erzählbar zu machen, sondern auch um das Potenzial von Kultur, einen übergreifenden Wandel in der Gesellschaft voranzutreiben.

Als Grundlage für diesen Prozess stellt sich die KBB seit 2013 mithilfe des internationalen Umweltmanagementsystems EMAS (Eco-Management mit Audit Scheme) ihrer eigenen Umweltbelastung und ermittelt konkrete Zahlen – von der Erhebung des Wasserverbrauchs in den einzelnen Häusern über Material- und Stoffstromanalysen bis zur Messung der verbrauchten Kilowattstunden für Heizungen und Scheinwerfer.

Einige Schritte zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit

  • Bahn statt Flugzeug bei Dienstreisen innerhalb Deutschlands und in Großstädte angrenzender Länder
  • Systematische Einbindung der Mitarbeitenden
  • Energetische Sanierung unserer Liegenschaften und kontinuierliche energetische Optimierung dieser
  • Leitfäden zur nachhaltigen Organisation von Veranstaltungen
  • Schrittweise Umstellung des Fuhrparks der KBB auf Elektromobilität
  • Häuserübergreifender Materialmarkt und berlinweite Kreislaufwirtschaftsprojekte

Die Umweltleitlinie der KBB

Wie funktioniert EMAS?

Entwickelt von der Europäischen Union unterstützt das internationale Umweltmanagementsystem EMAS (Eco-Management mit Audit Scheme) Unternehmen dabei, einen wirksamen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz zu leisten. Seit 2013 richtet die KBB ihr Umweltmanagement an EMAS aus und arbeitet seitdem kontinuierlich an der Verbesserung der eigenen Umweltbilanz.

EMAS funktioniert von innen heraus, indem es in die DNA des Unternehmens eingewoben wird: Die Basis des Systems bilden das Engagement und die Einbindung der Mitarbeitenden der KBB. Diese diskutieren als Umweltteam erhobene Daten und formulieren darauf aufbauend jährlich Maßnahmen zum Klima- und Ressourcenschutz. EMAS unterstützt und koordiniert das Bestreben, indem die gesetzten Ziele regelmäßig durch interne sowie externe Überprüfungen, sogenannten Audits, vorangetrieben werden. Auf diese Weise wird die Umsetzung der selbsterwählten Maßnahmen sichergestellt sowie nach innen und außen kommuniziert. Die EMAS-Validierung schafft somit die notwendigen Rahmenbedingungen, um Umweltbildung im Unternehmen zu verankern und Strukturen sowie Prozesse nachhaltig zu verändern.

Am 24. November 2021 hat die KBB die Bestätigung von der Industrie- und Handelskammer erhalten, dass sie die EMAS-Urkunde für ökologisches Wirtschaften mit der Registrierungsnummer DE-107-00140 mindestens bis zum 1. Oktober 2024 weiterführen kann.

Engagement der Kolleg*innen

Ich bin gern Teil des Umweltteams, weil ich der festen Überzeugung bin, dass sich einiges im Festivalbereich verändern muss. Diese Veränderungen bedeuten nicht automatisch Verzicht, sie können Spaß machen und darauf habe ich Lust!

Katharina Fritzsche, Organisationsleitung Theatertreffen, Berliner Festspiele

Auf einem Wagen wird eine Konstruktion aus Holz gebaut.
Parkplatzgarten am Gropius Bau mit Holzbänken, Liege- und Sitzmöglichkeiten sowie Pflanzenbeeten.

Schwerpunkte im Umweltmanagement der KBB

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit in der Kulturproduktion

Wie können Kulturveranstalter nachhaltiger handeln und zu einem grundlegenden Umdenken im Kulturbetrieb beitragen? Statt auf kulturellen Verzicht setzt die KBB auf technisches Wissen, Kreativität und Innovation. Soweit es die künstlerischen Prozesse zulassen, werden bei der Planung, Durchführung und Nachbereitung von Veranstaltungen ökologische Gesichtspunkte, insbesondere in den Bereichen Ressourceneinsatz, Beschaffung, Dienstreisen, Verkehr und Entsorgung, berücksichtigt. So werden Bühnenexponate mittels eines häuserübergreifenden Materialmarktes weitergereicht, Auflagenhöhen reduziert und Leitfäden zur umweltfreundlichen Veranstaltungsorganisation erarbeitet. Ziel ist es, ein allumfassendes Bewusstsein für umweltschonendes Handeln und die eigene Verantwortung zu schaffen, indem Alternativen aufzeigt werden.

Maßnahmenbeispiele:

  • Leitfäden zur ökologisch nachhaltigen Künstler*innen- und Gästebewirtung, zur nachhaltigen Organisation von Veranstaltungen und zur umweltfreundlichen Beschaffung
  • Häuserübergreifender Materialmarkt zur Wiederverwendung von Materialien aus dem Veranstaltungsaufbau
  • E-Fahrzeuge im Veranstaltungsfuhrpark der Berlinale und der KBB
  • Nutzung von umweltfreundlichen Materialien bei der Produktion von Printpublikationen sowie Reduzierung der Auflagenhöhe von Printprodukten
  • Vermeidung von Einwegmaterialien im Bereich Bewirtung

Nachhaltige und effiziente Verwaltung der Häuser

Wie können Ausstellungs- und Bühnenhäuser ihren CO2-Verbrauch langfristig reduzieren? Seit Einführung des Umweltmanagements erfasst die KBB kontinuierlich die Verbrauchsdaten für Wärme, Strom, Wasser, Abfall und bestimmte Verbrauchsprodukte sowie die daraus resultierende CO2-Emission für jeden Standort ihrer Institutionen. Ihre Auswertung bildet die Basis für das Aufstellen von optimierenden Maßnahmen. Die technische und energetische Sanierung der Häuser der KBB sowie der bereits 2013 vollzogene Umstieg auf Ökostrom markieren hierbei wichtige Meilensteine in einer umweltbewussten Verwaltung und Nutzung der Gebäude. Im engen Austausch mit Mitstreiter*innen spielt auch die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung eine große Rolle, wenn Energieverbrauch aufgrund steigender Kosten und möglichen Engpässen reduziert werden muss.

Maßnahmenbeispiele:

  • Bereits seit 2013 ausschließlich Nutzung von Ökostrom sowie sukzessive Reduzierung des Stromverbrauchs
  • Seit 2010 Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach des Gropius Bau
  • Modernisierung der Klima- und Heizungsanlage der Berliner Festspiele sowie Einbau einer Wärmerückgewinnungsanlage
  • Erneuerung der Stahl-Glas-Fassade im Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW)
  • Energetische Gesamtsanierung des Haus der Berliner Festspiele
  • Schrittweise KBB-weite Umrüstung auf verbrauchsarme LED-Leuchten im Gebäudemanagement sowie im Veranstaltungsbetrieb
  • Entlastung der Server: Reduzierung der selbst betriebenen Server von 18 auf sechs Server sowie von drei auf zwei Serverräumen plus zusätzliche Einschränkung der Klimatisierung der Serverräume
  • Reduzierung der Raumtemperatur auf 19 °C in den Büroräumen während der Heizperiode

Förderung des Umstiegs in eine umweltfreundliche Mobilität

Die KBB hat sich mit ihren Mitarbeitenden darauf verständigt, Dienstreisen so klimaneutral wie möglich durchzuführen. Aus diesem Grund erstattet die KBB innerhalb von Berlin ausschließlich Fahrten mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln. Auch innerhalb von Deutschland sowie in europäische Großstädte angrenzender Länder gilt die Bahn als präferiertes Reisemittel. Für länger beschäftigte Mitarbeitende besteht die Möglichkeit, das BVG-Firmenticket zu beziehen. Zusätzlich stellt die KBB ihren für den Betrieb notwendigen Fuhrpark sukzessive auf E-Fahrzeuge um.

Maßnahmenbeispiele:

  • Anschaffung von E-Bike-Lastenrad und E-Transporter als Ausgangspunkt der Umstellung des Logistik-Fuhrparks auf umweltfreundliche Lösungen
  • Fahrradstationen für Leihräder an unseren Häusern
  • Förderung der Fahrradnutzung durch Mitarbeiter*innen – Angebot eines kostenlosen Fahrradchecks in Kooperation mit dem ADFC sowie Angebot eines Dienstfahrrad-Leasings
  • Webkonferenzen und Online-Meetings werden bevorzugt

Förderung des Umweltbewusstseins aller Mitarbeitenden

Entscheidungen zur Nachhaltigkeit treffen all diejenigen, die produzieren, mitgestalten und selbst konsumieren. Daher ist es der KBB ein besonderes Anliegen, die Mitarbeitenden aller Häuser in die ökologische Ausrichtung einzubinden, um die KBB als Unternehmen auf dem Weg in eine ökologische Zukunft zu begleiten. Die Mitarbeitenden der KBB werden daher zu regelmäßigen Umweltteamsitzungen eingeladen, um aktiv am Transformationsprozess teilzunehmen sowie eigene Ideen einzubringen. Schulungen und Informationen über umweltbewusstes Verhalten am Arbeitsplatz sowie gemeinsame Ausflüge stärken zusätzlich das Bewusstsein für ökologische Nachhaltigkeit, während die Mitglieder des Umweltteams als ständige Ansprechpartner*innen zur Verfügung stehen.

Maßnahmenbeispiele:

  • Öffentliche Umweltteamsitzungen seit 2016
  • Schulungen über umweltfreundliches und gesundheitsverträgliches Heizen und Lüften
  • Jährlicher KBB-Umwelttag (bspw. Teilnahme am World-Cleanup-Day, Besuch der EMAS-zertifizierten Bäckerei Märkisches Landbrot)
  • Regelmäßige Hinweise zum umweltbewussten Verhalten am Arbeitsplatz
  • Schulungen zur umweltgerechten Beschaffung und zur nachhaltigen Veranstaltungsorganisation

Ausgleichsmaßnahmen

Für nicht zu vermeidende Flugreisen der Mitarbeitenden unterstützt die die KBB die Vernässung von Mooren in Norddeutschland durch den Erwerb von MoorFutures. MoorFutures widmet sich der Renaturierung von Mooren in Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Schleswig-Holstein. Als leistungsstarke Kohlenstoffspeicher binden Moorgebiete etwa ein Drittel des im Boden und in der Biomasse der Erde existierenden Kohlenstoff und bedecken dabei nur drei Prozent unseres Globus. Über den Kauf von freiwilligen Klimaschutzzertifikaten unterstützt die KBB MoorFutures bei ihrer Arbeit, trocken gelegte Moore wieder zu vernässen und somit CO2 im Boden dauerhaft zu binden. Die Mittel des KBB fließen in die Wiedervernässung von ehemaligen Mooren. Mehr dazu finden Sie unter www.moorfutures-sh.de oder hier.

Kontakt

Was passiert noch zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit in der KBB?